The Spurn Lightship guided ships safely through the treacherous River Humber for almost 50 years. Step aboard to discover how it was used as a navigational aid and to find out what life was like on board. An interpretation panel at the Marina explains its history for visitors when the ship is closed.
The accommodation is preserved to show how the seven man crew worked and passed the time on their month long deployments. Communication and emergency equipment dating from the launch of the vessel in 1927 are on display.
The Spurn Lightship is open 11am-4.30pm on the following Sundays during Summer 2017:
11, 18 & 25 June
2, 9, 16, 23 & 30 July
6, 13, 20 & 27 August
Admission to the Spurn Lightship is free.
For information on accessibility please contact us or visit our website.